Angelique Ellyn Anderson, LIQUE Story Studio Inc.

aanderson_humpty

Screenshot of Lique Story Studio’s “Humpty and Other Goosey Tales”

***The Thursday Interview is a showcase for creators, innovators, troublemakers,  business owners to share news and insight about the creative impetus and inspirations behind their latest project, launch or business.

Angelique and I met at media mixer hosted by Emerging Market Views, a digital news platform focusing on emerging and frontier markets.  We were there to support a mutual friend Dawn Kissi,  the platform’s founder.  We started chatting about entrepreneurship, co-working spaces  and creativity.  Once I heard about her work, I wanted to include her on the Thursday Interview.  Enjoy…

Name: Angelique Ellyn Anderson, Artist, Founder / Creative Director of  LIQUE Story Studio Inc.

Launch Date: 2016

My current project(s) are…
…developing children’s book apps utilizing Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality. I have 2 other picture-book app projects which include journey, seek and discovery experiences for VR headsets.

I love getting up in the morning to…
…work on my projects. Now that I work independently for myself I can focus on developing my own successful dreams instead of someone else’s.

The main challenge(s) to being a creative entrepreneur…
…is being able to maintain that independence financially so that you can focus on development of your own products; and to obtain those necessary funds and resources to help you grow until your business can stand on its own. Having to stop and start by working for someone else so that you can raise money to continue your own growth is frustrating and can kill a very viable product.

My go-to networking groups are….
…the New Media Center by IFP in Dumbo, the VR Lab at ITP-NYU sponsored by Hearst Corporation, UnityVR user MeetUp group and the Children’s Book Illustrators Group (CBIG) for Julie Gribble’s Kidlit.TV,  and Viridian Artists Gallery in Chelsea, NY.

Here’s why you and everybody you know needs to see Hadestown…
…I became a passionate supporter of the folk opera, Hadestown, 6 yrs ago, when I first experienced Anais Mitchell and Michael Chorney with their band performing it  in the park. I approached them afterwards about developing it for stage on Broadway. Their CD was just being released. So here they are, years later, performing Hadestown, Off-Broadway at the New York Theatre Workshop, NYC. My passion for the musical, Hadestown expands by working with the producer to procure investors for the Broadway production.

Shout out time.  This is an opportunity to salute your collaborators and supporters.
I thank my mom and Pat Cummings, who got me started with Children’s Illustration, storytelling and book making; all my CBIG members for being such a dynamic support and resource in the industry; grateful for Roxy Munroe for being an inspiration and a dynamic force in the industry of book, storytelling and app-making;  Julie Gribble of KidlitTV for being a steadfast supporter and gracious friend;  Steve Sandberg, genius musician and best friend; choreographer and colleague Annetta Sawyer for ultimate support and of course the New Media Center by IFP in Dumbo, Brooklyn for being a resource of knowledge and support.


Launching a new biz or project?  Let’s talk!  
Happy Creating, Cultivating and Growing!

